Melissa Shafner - EL 102 - Thames Academy - Spring 2009

Online Reference Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica - Online version of the reference classic, with added features.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Electronic reference eBook titles in business, the environment, history, medicine, multicultural studies, science, and more.

CQ Researcher - Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier
Includes full-text coverage for over 4,500 journals in all subject areas.
Expanded Academic ASAP
- Periodicals covering all academic concentrations.
The Boolean Machine
This visual representation highlights the logical relationships you may create between your search terms using the words AND, OR, NOT.

Library Catalog

Or visit the Library Catalog Mainpage

The Mitchell College Library belongs to a consortium named LION (Libraries Online, Inc.), consisting of over 20 other libraries within the state of CT. If you choose to use the search bar above, your results will be based on a search of all LION libraries. However, if you go to the catalog through the link Library Catalog Mainpage above, your search by default will limit results to the Mitchell College collection. You can change that at any time to include all LION libraries. When you find a book that belongs to another library, you may place a request for that book directly within the catalog, using your library barcode as identification, and the book will automatically be sent to Mitchell for you. We receive daily deliveries through a statewide libary delivery service.

News Resources

The Day
New London's Local Newspaper
iConn Newstand
Searches the following seven papers:
The Boston Globle
The Christian Science Monitor
The Hartford Courant
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922)
The Los Angeles Times
The New York Times
The Wall Street Journal
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full-text news, business, legal, medical and reference information.

The All Music Guide

What is the All Music Guide?
AMG started as a print publication in 1991 and became a web site in 1995. Touting itself as, "the most comprehensive music reference source on the planet," AMG is indeed a comprehensive resource for exploring all manner of styles and genres of music.
All Music Guide Home
The All Music Blog

Sound Recordings in the Mitchell College Library

Mitchell College Library Music Classification Scheme

Music CD's are shelved by genre to facilitate browsing, and all titles are searchable in the library catalog.

Genre Codes

CH – Children’s Music

CL – Classical

CO – Country

EL – Easy Listening, Instrumental, New Age

FB – Folk, Bluegrass

JB – Jazz, Blues, Funk, Soul, Motown

POP – Rock, Popular, Alternative, Rhythm & Blues (R&B), Surf

RH – Rap, Hip Hop, Spoken Word

RS – Reggae, Ska

SE – Seasonal, Holiday

ST – Soundtracks (Films, Musicals)

WO – World, International

Alphabetic Title Display from Mitchell College Catalog

Thames Academy - Spring 2009