Skip to main content

Social Activism Toolkit: A Guide to "Finding Your Inner Activist"

Idealist.org

Idealist.org"The world's best place to find volunteer opportunities, nonprofit jobs, internships, and organizations working to change the world since 1995."

Change.org

The stated mission of Change.org is "to build an international network of people empowered to fight for what's right locally, nationally, and globally."

Connecticut Chapter of the Sierra Club

Founded by John Muir in 1892, the Sierra Club describes itself as "the largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization in the United States." The Connecticut Chapter of the Sierra Club is part of the organization's national network, which also supports the Sierra Student Coalition

Searchable Databases and Online Bibliographies

Greenpeace International - List of simple ‘what you can do right now’ actions that make a difference as well as information about the organization.

National Political Index - Provides an index of substantive political information for voters, political activists, political consultants, lobbyists, politicians, academicians, and media editors.

SpeakOut - Private online opinion research company that provides market research, focus group and political polls online. Includes links to activism centers for abortion, animal rights, death penalty, education, environment, gay rights, gun control, napster, race/ethnicity, religion, and technology issues.

Social Psychology Network - Searchable index of social activism resources for animal rights, environment, politics, AIDS education, hunger, homelessness, LBGT, civil rights, and more.

PolicyLinkNational nonprofit research, communications, capacity building, and advocacy organization working to advance economic and social equity in the U.S.

Activism.net -  Includes resources for alternative media, cyber rights, government watchdogs, health, peace, privacy, environment, sexuality, 911 Response, the war on drugs, and more.


Freedom Activist Network - Searchable index of individuals, organizations and events relating to many types of social issues.


Based upon the SUNY Geneseo Library Activism Study Guide

National Service Learning Clearinghouse

"The National Service-Learning Clearinghouse (NSLC) supports the service-learning community in higher education, kindergarten through grade twelve, community-based organizations, tribal programs, and all others interested in strengthening schools and communities using service-learning."

CNN iReport

Learn how CNN iReport can engage and involve faculty and students together in issues of current import in their world, leveraging internet social media to hone digital media production and writing skills.  Mellon Foundation funding supported an institute at Illinois College in July 2012, spearheaded by James Jorstad, Director of Academic Technologies at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, who previously had conducted a 16-month study at the university using CNN iReport as a powerful teaching and learning tool.