Basic Information Resources - Thames Academy - Academic Year 2009/10

eReference

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Journalist coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports published by Congressional Quarterly Press.

Essential Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 9,000 journals.

The Boolean Machine
This visual representation highlights the logical relationships you may create between your search terms using the words AND, OR, NOT.

Videorecordings in the Mitchell College Library

Library Catalog

The Mitchell College Library belongs to a consortium named LION (Libraries Online, Inc.), consisting of over 20 other libraries within the state of CT. If you choose to use the search bar above, your results will be based on a search of all LION libraries. However, if you go to the catalog through the link Library Catalog Mainpage above, your search by default will limit results to the Mitchell College collection. You can change that at any time to include all LION libraries. When you find a book that belongs to another library, you may place a request for that book directly within the catalog, using your library barcode as identification, and the book will automatically be sent to Mitchell for you. We receive daily deliveries through a statewide libary delivery service.

News Resources

The Day
New London's Local Newspaper
iConn Newspapers
Christian Science Monitor
Hartford Courant
Historical Newspapers of CT
London Times
New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full-text news, business, legal, medical and reference information.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Opposing Viewpoints
more...less...
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a full-text resource covering contemporary social issues. It is designed to bring together the many different types of information needed to achieve comprehensive understanding. It includes pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, and multimedia (including images and podcasts), and links to web sites.

Literary Reference Center Database

Literary Reference Center

This comprehensive subscription database will provide you with information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.