LibGuides: Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial: On the Web

Library of Congress

The Library of Congress is an amazing resource for accessing original sources on the web!

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
Most of the 20,000 items in this collection are from the 1850s through Lincoln's presidential years, 1860-65.
The American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
The Lincolniana in this collection includes the business card of Abraham Lincoln, as well as the famous broadside advertising a reward for the capture of Lincoln assassination conspirators.
Mr. Lincoln's Virtual Library
Containing the Abraham Lincoln Papers housed in the LC Manuscript Division, and the "We'll Sing to Abe Our Song!" online collection, which includes over two hundred sheet-music compositions representing Lincoln and the war as reflected in popular music.
Historic recording of Lincoln's Speech at Gettysburg
Emile Berliner launched the commercial recording industry in earnest with the release of his invention, the Gramophone, in 1894. This historic recording features a well-known speaker and vocalist of the day, William F. Hooley.
U.S. Civil War: Selected Resources
A compilation of Civil War resources at the Library of Congress in a variety of formats. Also provides links to selected resources outside LOC.
Slavery Resource Guide
A guide to the extensive collections in many formats within the Library of Congress, with links to external resources as well.
We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement
A partnership project produced by the U.S. Department of Interior, National Park Service, U.S. Department of Transportation, The Federal Highway Administration, and the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers

Additional Resources

Northern Illinois University Abraham Lincoln Digitization Project
"Lincoln/Net presents historical materials from Abraham Lincoln's Illinois years (1830-1861), including Lincoln's writings and speeches, as well as other materials illuminating antebellum Illinois."
Lincoln Studies: Abraham Lincoln and the American Civil War
A site run by Samuel P. Wheeler, a lecturer in history at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, with links to research sites. A treasure trove! Even a link to "Lincoln on Ebay"!
Lincoln Studies Center at Knox College
Illinois Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission
Illinois Historic Preservation Agency (administers Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum)
Ford's Theatre National Historic Site
The National Archives

Abraham Lincoln Association

The Abraham Lincoln Association was founded in 1908. The purpose of the Association is stated as follows on its web site (www.http://abrahamlincolnassociation.org):

"The purpose of The Abraham Lincoln Association is to observe each anniversary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln, to preserve and make more accessible the landmarks associated with his life, and actively to encourage, promote, and aid the collection and dissemination of authentic information regarding all phases of his life and career."

This photo was taken at the Lincoln Centennial celebration banquet held on February 12, 1909.

Civil War

The American Civil War Homepage
Launched in Febrary 1995 as a class project within the School of Library and Information Services at the University of Tennessee, this site has grown in scope and stature. A must-see resource!
National Park Service: The American Civil War - Forging a More Perfect Union
Created by the National Park Services as the Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War (2011-2015) approaches. A valuable resource!

Slavery and Civil Rights

NAACP
Start here within the NAACP site to understand the foundations and history of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.
The King Center
An inspiration and wealth of resources! As stated on the site, The King Center was established by Coretta Scott King in 1968 as the official, living memorial dedicated to the advancement of the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Documenting the American South
Sponsored by the University Library at the University of South Carolina at Chapel Hill, "DocSouth is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture."
Exploring Amistad at Mystic Seaport
A piece of local history that was transformational for the national consciousness, this site site explores the Amistad Revolt of 1839-1842.