September 11, 2001

From the publisher: "...the first book to provide practitioners, educators, and students with a comprehensive account of the original and ongoing developments in the Department of Homeland Security’s reorganization, as well as the practices, policies and programs enacted in relation to the government restructure. The new edition continues to prove the standard in providing the latest information on the developments in national security in the context of DHS.

"Continuing in the tradition of the first edition, the book recounts US Government and private sector actions taken since 9/11 in the areas of legislation, government organization, communications, technology, and emergency management practices. It is packed with reference sections, notations directing the reader to relevant publications and websites, and contributions from media reports or experts. Case studies provide insightful guidance for security managers having to deal effectively with similar situations.

"--Case Studies included in the book relate the book’s topics to real events
--Only Homeland Security title to include an Instructor’s Manual with Test Bank to support Academic curricula
--Includes an up-to-date, complete and comprehensive contact list of Federal and State government homeland security offices and officials
--Full color photographs and illustrations throughout"

Also an ebook.
From the publisher: "This report explores whether there are core pedagogical and skill-based homeland security program needs; examines current and proposed education programs focusing on various aspects of homeland security; comments on the possible parallels between homeland security, area studies, international relations, and science policy, as developed or emerging academic thrusts; and suggests potential curricula needs, particularly those that involve interdisciplinary aspects. The report concentrates almost exclusively on coursework-related offerings, primarily at the undergraduate and graduate levels."

From the Amazon.com book description: "The radically new homeland security, military, and legal strategies developed by the United States in the months following the terrorists attacks on the World Trade Center and Pentagon are given comprehensive treatment in this book by a former senior Pentagon official, combat veteran, and criminal prosecutor. Stephen Duncan draws on a lifetime of military and legal experience to examine the many questions relating to the role of the armed forces in homeland security, including elements of constitutional and criminal law, foreign policy, tradition and custom, federal-state and inter-agency relations, and politics, as well as military strategy and operations. Among the diverse subjects the author discusses are military tribunals and the International Criminal Court, the statue governing the use of military personnel in law enforcement, defense transformation, the constitutional power of the president, and the reorganization of the government to meet the terrorist threat. Duncan also discusses the strategy and tactics used in Afghanistan and Iraq and critically evaluates the nation's political leadership before and after the 9/11 attacks. His book gives readers access to a wealth of information essential to an understanding of the full picture and at the same time puts them in the midst of policy debates to grasp the immediacy of the situation. This important and absorbing historical narrative will attract general readers as well as those with experience in national security issues, politics, and the law."

From the catalog: "Americans are in denial, maintains security expert Flynn, about how vulnerable our nation is to disaster, be it terrorist attack or act of God. But what's truly shocking, he argues, is how little we have learned from September 11 and Hurricane Katrina. America is living on borrowed time--and squandering it. Flynn describes how we have become increasingly vulnerable to disaster by grossly neglecting the complex, crumbling infrastructure that provides our water, food, health care, electricity, and transportation. Through a series of realistic scenarios, he dramatizes the prime areas of documented risk, where terrorist attacks could kill thousands and bring regions to their economic knees--but the wrath of Mother Nature may be our gravest threat. But Flynn also explores what we can do about it, as individuals and as a society, outlining a detailed, pragmatic preparedness program we can embrace right now.--From publisher description."

From the Amazon.com product description: "How can the United States guard against a clever unknown enemy while still preserving the freedoms it holds dear? Hulnick explains the need to revamp U.S. intelligence operations from a system focused on a single Cold War enemy to one offering more flexibility in combating non-state actors (including terrorists, spies, and criminals) like those responsible for the attacks of September 11, 2001. Offering possible solutions not to be found in the federal commission's official report, Hulnick's groundbreaking work examines what is really necessary to make intelligence and homeland security more efficient and competent, both at within the United States and abroad.

"The U.S. government's progress in establishing a system for homeland security is considerable, yet, besides shifts in alert status, most U.S. residents are unaware of the work being done to keep them safe. Describing the system already in place, Hulnick adds further ideas about what more is needed to protect Americans in the ever-changing world of intelligence. To create a truly valuable program, it is suggested the the United States consider not only new strategies and tactics, but also the need to break down the barriers between intelligence agencies and law enforcement."

From the Amazon.com product description: "More than $3 billion is spent annually on homeland security. New threats and vulnerabilities are identified on virtually a daily basis. The McGraw-Hill Homeland Security Handbook provides first responders, security professionals, and students with a fundamental and definitive overview of critical homeland security issues. This first all-in-one reference features review and assessment of myriad homeland security risks, along with insights, strategies, and practical advice for working successfully in the new threat environment. A team of more than 70 experts supplies chapters covering terrorist tactics, intra-government coordination of information, behavioral pattern recognition, aviation and maritime passenger and cargo security, new rules for securing cyberspace, roles of media and private individuals, and more."

From the Amazon.com product description: "As a result of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, the United States has made substantial and controversial changes to its homeland security system. The authors in this anthology offer differing perspectives on these measures, and on the state of homeland security in the United States."

From AbeBooks.com: "...the authoritative textbook on one of the most important topics facing our nation. From complex policy issues to Common terrorist tactics, Homeland Security provides a practical foundation for professionals, students, and concerned citizens alike. Designed forreaders who need to understand both the "big picture" and their own roles in the war against terror, the book provides a clear, comprehensive and fascinating overview of an increasingly complex and misunderstood topic. This indispensable reference, filled with fascinating real-life examples and tips, covers the basics of homeland security such as: national strategies and principles; federal, state and local roles; terrorist history and tactics; cyber-terrorism; business preparedness; critical infrastructure protection; weapons of mass destruction; and key policy issues. Perfect for academic and training classrooms, each chapter includes an overview, learning objectives, source document, discussion topic, summary, and quiz."

From the Amazon.com product description: "The United States government is reorganizing to increase domestic security. How will these changes impact the American criminal justice system? Defending the Homeland: Domestic Intelligence, Law Enforcement, and Security is the only book that illustrates up-to-the minute information on how our criminal justice system has changed since 9/11. Written by an expert on academic leave to provide training for the Department of Defense, White provides an insider's look at issues related to restructuring of federal law enforcement and recent policy challenges. The book discusses the problem of bureaucracy, interaction between the law enforcement and intelligence communities, civil liberties, and theories of war and police work. From a practical perspective, the book examines offensive and defensive strategies. The book gives an introduction to violent international religious terrorism and an overview of domestic terrorist problems still facing law enforcement."